Downtown Halifax Announces New Board and Celebrates 30 Years at AGM

June 23/17
Downtown Halifax Announces New Board and Celebrates 30 Years at AGM

Downtown Halifax Business Commission (DHBC) is pleased to announce the 2017-2018 Board of Directors. The new Board of Directors was voted in by DHBC members during its Annual General Meeting on June 22 in a packed room at The Discovery Centre. Paul MacKinnon, DHBC Executive Director, welcomed two new board members and thanked the outgoing board members and those returning for another term.

The AGM was also an opportunity to celebrate DHBC’s 30th anniversary. Past board members were in attendance as MacKinnon reflected on the past 30 years of the organization in a special presentation to the audience. Andy Fillmore, Member of Parliament for Halifax, presented DHBC with a Certificate of Achievement “in celebration of 30 years serving the business community of Downtown Halifax.”

“It has been an amazing 30 years in Downtown Halifax with many challenges and accomplishments,” said Paul MacKinnon. “The DHBC Board is made up of passionate volunteers that give us direction and guidance as well as keep us focused over time. Their unique perspective and hard work with their own individual businesses and with DHBC help make Downtown Halifax successful.”

Incoming Board Members:
Christian Rankin, Obladee Wine Bar
Jake Whalen, Halifax Regional Municipality

Returning Board Members:
Gordon Whittaker, Oakport Limited – Chair
Jennifer Angel, Waterfront Development – Past Chair
Adriana Afford, Argyle Fine Art – Vice-Chair
Pino Pagnottella, Sterling Properties – Secretary/Treasurer
Dan Bourque, Crombie REIT
Eric Burchill, Southwest Properties Limited
Sarah Flynn, Colour
Renée Fournier
Matthew Jarsky, Jarsky Studios
Jennie King, Royal Nova Scotia International Tattoo
Scott McGaw, Meridia Recruitment
Dr. Euan McGinty, Ocean Optometry
Joe McGuinness, Durty Nelly’s and The Stubborn Goat
Mark Peyton, Sailor Bup’s Barbershop

Outgoing Board Members:
Margaret MacDonald, Halifax Regional Municipality
Joanne Macrae, Office of Andy Fillmore, MP – Vice-Chair