DHBC Announces New Board and Award Winners at 2016 AGM

June 29/16
DHBC Announces New Board and Award Winners at 2016 AGM

DHBC is pleased to announce the 2016-2017 Board of Directors and 2016 Big Day Downtown Award winners. The new Board of Directors was voted in by DHBC members during the Annual General Meeting at a packed room in the Halifax Alehouse on June 28. Paul MacKinnon, DHBC Executive Director, welcomed three new board members and thanked the outgoing board members and those returning for another term. The Big Day Downtown Awards were also given out to outstanding businesses in Downtown Halifax. The award winners were chosen through an online vote by members and the public (People’s Choice).

“It has been an amazing year in Downtown Halifax with many ups and downs,” said Paul MacKinnon, Executive Director of DHBC. “The DHBC Board is made up of passionate volunteers that give us direction and guidance through the challenges that face Downtown and also through the achievements and victories. Their unique perspective and hard work with their own individual businesses and with DHBC help make Downtown Halifax successful. The Big Day Downtown Awards reflect some the district’s successes by rewarding thriving businesses that make a difference in the area.”


Incoming Board Members:

Sarah Flynn, Colour
Renée Fournier, Discovery Centre
Mark Peyton, Sailor Bup’s Barbershop


Returning Board Members:

Jennifer Angel, Waterfront Development – Chair
Joanne Macrae, Office of Andy Fillmore, MP – Vice-Chair
Gordon Whittaker, Oakport Limited – Secretary Treasurer
Adriana Afford, Argyle Fine Art – Member at Large
Peter Wünsch, Breakhouse – Member at Large
Dan Bourque, Crombie REIT
Matthew Jarsky, Fowler Bauld & Mitchell Architects
Jennie King, Neptune Theatre
Margaret MacDonald, Halifax Regional Municipality
Dr. Euan McGinty, Ocean Optometry
Pino Pagnottella, Sterling Properties
Scott McGaw, Meridia Recruitment
Eric Burchill, Southwest Properties Limited


Outgoing Board Members:

Gordon Stevens, The Uncommon Group of Companies – Past Chair
Jennie Dobbs, Morris East Restaurant
Brad Savoy, Urban Outfitters


Big Day Downtown 2016 Award Winners:

Pedestrian Pleaser: A Downtown businesses that makes it a pleasure to take a stroll Downtown. – Winner: Argyle Fine Art
Influential Innovator: A Downtown business whose innovation and creativity have stood out. – Winner: Stillwell Bar
Classy Corporation: A Downtown-based corporation that makes a great neighbour. – Winner: Breakhouse
Rookie of the Year: A Downtown business that used their short time to make a big impact. – Winner: East Coast Lifestyle (retail store)
Lifetime Achievement Award: A Downtown business that has undeniably left their mark on Downtown Halifax over the years. – Winner: Freak Lunchbox
People’s Choice: A Downtown business that has impressed the public the most this year. – Winner: Cyclone Group Fitness
Downtown Champion: An individual that goes above and beyond for their community and their work makes them stand out as a champion of Downtown Halifax. – Winner: Gordon Stevens